SECL distributes Rs 83cr terminal benefits in a day

In line with its continuing efforts to settle the claims of Terminal Benefits to its employees on the day of retirement itself, SECL recently organised a Common Farewell function to honour and disburse the highest sum of Rs 83.03 crores to its 470 retiring executives and employees. The company distributed Provident Fund, Gratuity, payments towards Group Gratuity Scheme and also handed over Pension Sanction Orders.

On this occasion, NC Jha, CMD-SECL and Director-Technical, Coal India said, “I’m happy to be the part of this function. We are here to honour the retiring employees who have given their lion’s share in the progress of this Company to achieve the distinction to become the first coal subsidiary company to produce 100 million tonne of coal. This achievement could only be possible because of unity and cooperation amongst the employees of SECL.”

He added, we produce coal which is black, although it is so, it gives refreshing light, for energy security of the country. He said that in spite of availability of other energy resources like Oil, Gas and Hydropower, still Coal contributes about 46% in production of energy.

On the occasion, Director (Personnel) RS Singh gave a brief presentation over SECL’s pioneer effort to handover all the terminal payments on the day of retirements. The scheme was started in 2004 and is still continues with whole hearted cooperation of officials of Coal Mines Provident Fund (CMPF) Jabalpur and Bilaspur Zone.

This is for the first time that SECL has paid the highest sum towards the terminal benefit to its retiring employees amounting to Rs 83.03 crores, which includes Rs 45.00 crores towards the Provident Fund dues, 27.00 crores towards payment of Normal Gratuity, and Rs 1.00 crore under Group Gratuity Scheme to the next of kin/dependents, against the employees who lost their lives during employment.

The function was attended by the departmental heads Executives and Staff and Stearing Committee Members Nathulal Pandey (HMS), Markandey Singh (AITUC), Kameshwar Singh (CITU), PK Roy (INTUC), RS Gupta (CMOAI), Welfare Board Members Laxman Chandra (BMS).

The vote of thanks was given by RBP Sahi, Gen Manager (P&A).

  Similar Posts

Share it